Sevilla - Basic Membership


Isaac Albeniz was a brilliant Spanish composer from the latter part of the 19th century. Many of his piano compositions have found great popularity as guitar transcriptions and in some instances have risen above the original piano works and entrenched themselves firmly in the classical guitar repertoire of modern times. The most famous pieces are probably Asturias, Granada, and Mallorca.

The piece in this tutorial is taken from the Suite Española Op. 47 written in 1886 and is one of the four original pieces that comprised the suite. Several other pieces were added in 1912 - Aragón, Asturias, Cádiz, and Castilla.


This piece features the somewhat unusual G6 open tuning of the strings as follows:

  1. E
  2. B
  3. G
  4. D
  5. G
  6. D

This enables the guitarist to sweep through the keys of G-major, E-flat major, D-major, & C-minor in relative comfort. The piece itself is quite demanding due to the speed and key changes that punctuate the piece.

Let your fingers fly!

Isaac AlbenizSueComment