Prelude BWV1007 - Basic Membership


This lovely Prelude by J. S. Bach is taken from the first movement of the first of his six suites for solo cello. The six suites have been transcribed for numerous instruments but perhaps they sit very well on guitar because it is well known that Bach himself arranged Suite no. 5 in C-minor for the lute, recognising the natural ease with which the suites sit on instruments such as the guitar.

This Prelude belongs to BWV1007 and is comprised of 6 movements:

  1. Prelude
  2. Allemande
  3. Courante
  4. Sarabande
  5. Galanteries
  6. Gigue

I have broken everything down and tried to come up with the easiest fingerings possible whilst retaining the essence of the piece.

Let your fingers fly!