Granada - Basic Membership


Granada belongs to a famous Spanish piano suite composed by Isaac Albéniz in the later part of the 19th century. Many of his works were transcribed by the Catalan guitarist Miguel Llobet and Granada is one of those transcriptions. The original Suite Española Op. 47 contained four pieces - Cataluña, Cuba, Granada, & Sevilla. Each of the 4 pieces were written to reflect an area of Spain and they were composed for the then Queen of Spain. In later publications several other pieces were added to the suite including Aragón, Asturias, Cádiz, & Castilla.


This piece is full of contrast and challenges.

  • a multitude of triplets that usually need to to played whilst holding down a chord (never an easy thing) 
  • several sections with prolonged barre
  • scale runs
  • artificial harmonics
  • diminuendo, crescendo
  • rallentando
  • naturale and ponticello

Let your fingers fly!