Sevilla - Premium Membership


Isaac Albeniz was a brilliant Spanish composer from the latter part of the 19th century. Many of his piano compositions have found great popularity as guitar transcriptions and in some instances have risen above the original piano works and entrenched themselves firmly in the classical guitar repertoire of modern times. The most famous pieces are probably Asturias, Granada, and Mallorca. The piece in these tutorials is taken from the Suite Española Op. 47 written in 1886 and is one of the four original pieces that comprised the suite. Several other pieces were added in 1912 - Aragón, Asturias, Cádiz, and Castilla.


Almost every guitar techinque that you can think of is used in this piece. Rasguedos, slides, harmonics, trills, rest strokes & free strokes - it's all here. To vary the piece I like to play the middle section using predominantly sul tasto timbre with rest strokes. 


  • 6 - D
  • 5 - G
  • 4 - D
  • 3 - G
  • 2 - B
  • 1 - E

Let your fingers fly!